Trip reports

Trip to Titchfield Haven - 15th March - report by Rebecca Dunne

Sunday, 15 March 2020

In these anxious times it was good to get out in the fresh air and enjoy a relaxing walk around Titchfield Haven National Nature Reserve. More...

Minibus trip to Blashford Lakes - 29th February - report by Rebecca Dunne

Saturday, 29 February 2020

Family members doubted our sanity, Jim, the warden, said "Just bring wellies"..... More...

Minibus trip to Hayling Island and Farlington Marshes - 18th January - report by Rebecca Dunne

Saturday, 18 January 2020

A beautiful, sunny winter's day with little wind and a calm sea provided excellent conditions for an enjoyable day's bird watching, which included stunning close-up views of bearded tits. More...

Minibus trip to Elmley - 15th December - report by Rebecca Dunne

Sunday, 15 December 2019

Elmley is renowned for abundant wildlife and sustainable agriculture. It's huge amount of fresh water habitat, alongside the equally vast expanses of salt marsh and mudflats of the Swale, make the area a gigantic feeding table for waders and wildfowl throughout the year with numbers peaking between January and March. More...

Coach trip to Arne RSPB - 17 November - Report by Rebecca Dunne

Tuesday, 26 November 2019

Whether you went to Arne to "See avocets," to tick off birds, to familiarise yourself with a few new species, to "Get back into birding" to enjoy a reserve that's just a bit too far for a day trip or just to have a wander around a beautiful new reserve, everyone seemed to enjoy their visit. More...

Flock of birds over flooded fields, Cliffe pools, Kent

Saturday, 19 October 2019

A rewarding trip to a fascinating area - it was a Neolithic forest, a Ministry of Defence rifle range used in both World Wars, and is now a RSPB reserve More...

Minibus trip to Rye Harbour - 14th September - report by Andy Roberts

Saturday, 14 September 2019

Saturday 14th September saw 16 members alighting from the minibus at a sun-baked Rye Harbour Nature Reserve More...

View towards Solway Firth

Wednesday, 21 August 2019

A pantheon of godwits, a Bonaparte's gull - and so much more! More...

Bittern walking on edge of reedbed

Friday, 7 June 2019

A very successful day 69 species - including bitterns and cranes. More...

Cuckoo perched in tree

Saturday, 18 May 2019

A lovely day of birds, butterflies and sunshine.. More...

Bittern walking on edge of reedbed

Tuesday, 7 May 2019

A 3 day trip visiting RSPB Ham Wall, Shapwick Heath and Stewart Marshes More...

RSPB Dungeness nature reserve

Tuesday, 16 April 2019

Our visit to the unique landscape of Dungeness More...

Estuary at sunset, Mersehead RSPB reserve

Wednesday, 27 March 2019

A day of Sunshine, Skylarks and Shells (the World War II variety!) More...

Belfast Lough view

Sunday, 20 January 2019

A 3 day trip local group trip to Devon, based at Dawlish Warren. More...

Mini-bus trip to Blashford Lakes and the New Forest 6th Jan 2019

Tuesday, 8 January 2019

A mild winters day had us clocking up some good birds on the first trip of the new year. More...

Coach trip to WWT Welney reserve

Sunday, 25 November 2018

Despite Flu and viruses laying low some of our members who had booked places, the day turned out to be one of the best visits ever to Welney. More...

Group trip to RSPB Otmoor reserve 17th May

Friday, 18 May 2018

A purrfect day More...

Adult black-tailed godwit in summer plummage, at the RSPB Snettisham nature reserve, Norfolk

Monday, 26 March 2018

Jewels in the trees and duels in the sky More...

Avocet wading in water

Tuesday, 30 January 2018

Difficult weather made this weekend challenging. More...