Bridge camera recommendation for complete beginner

Chat

Chat
Say hello to your fellow members or ask questions about this community here
The Tea Rooms

Bridge camera recommendation for complete beginner

• I have always used my Iphone for photos, but I would love a lightish camera which zooms nicely for bird and scenic photos, plus one which works well in low light/Winter conditions. It's a bit overwhelming trying to choose something. Max budget £500.
  • Hi Karen

I think most of us would say if you have a camera shop nearby pop in and hold a few and see how they feel in the hand.

One I can recommend that is at the top of your price range is the Nikon p900 https://www.wexphotovideo.com/nikon-coolpix-p900-digital-camera-1569010/

Have a look at Bob's thread he has one

https://ww2.rspb.org.uk/community/wildlife/f/13609/t/193713.aspx?pi2132219858=1

and if you want to see what it can do with the video have a look here at his Buzzard one...check out the zoom lol.

• Second hand www.lcegroup.co.uk/.../Nikon-Coolpix-P900_217932.html

• You won't go far wrong with any of the big names, Nikon, Canon, Panasonic (Lumix).  As Alan suggests, get along to a decent camera shop to see what they feel like in the hand - Wex Photos is handy for Suffolk, it's on the outskirts of Norwich.  The feel of a camera makes a lot of difference, if it feels right you'll use it more and get better at taking pictures.  Don't get too hooked up on the specifications quoted - if you need a lens of 2000mm (equivalent) reach to get a picture of a bird, you're simply too far away (atmospherics or heat haze will probably impact the shot anyway).  Take a look at the Wex website, see what models are in your price range, then take your short list along to the shop to take a look :-)