Hello from Peak Rambler

Chat

Chat
Say hello to your fellow members or ask questions about this community here
Hello!

Hello from Peak Rambler

• Hello all,

A quick intro, my name is Mike, land locked near Birmingham and very fearful for the future of the countryside for our children!

I used to be an avid mountaineer, even partook on many training courses navigation, survival, and winter skills, using ice axe and crampons. I'm also a keen hill and moorland, and most of my walks took place predominantly in the Peak District, Snowdonia, Yorkshire and some Cairngorms. Not only was I a keen mountaineer, hill and moorland walker, I'm also a keen amateur photographer of landscape and nature, and many reserves have given me some fabulous moments to photograph and enjoy.

However, since a very bad accident early 2015, which totally smashed my lower right leg, requiring major surgical reconstruction, I now have limited mobility, though I'm no longer dependant on a wheelchair, but still require walking aids.

But, I’m not to be beaten into submission, I still have my family, friends, my work (who have been, and still are, very supportive), two legs, my camera and my life.

I am active on Twitter and also maintain an online photo album using Flickr

Twitter:                   @PeakRambler

Flickr                      Peak Rambler      https://www.flickr.com/photos/peak-rambler/albums

• Hiya Mike welcome to the community from Sheffield.

Sorry to hear about your accident but it's good news you can still get out and about and a lot of the reserves are now catering for people with limited mobility.

One of my favourite places is the Peak District especially at this time of the year with the Red Deer rut.

Very jealous of your Nuthatch photos it's a bird I don't get on my patch.

Have a read here about how to post photos on here, we all love to see each others photos www.rspb.org.uk/.../191572.aspx

• Hi Mike and welcome from me down south in the Thames Valley.