Trip reports

Guided walk at NWT Thompson Common, Saturday 14 August 2021

Thursday, 19 August 2021

Male ruddy darter and female common darter on Chris's hand and Tessa's hat respectively made an excellent shot. More...

Guided walk at NWT Thorpe Marshes, Monday 5 July

Thursday, 8 July 2021

Looking up as we turned the corner onto the eastern part of the path we saw, high in the sky, a very tatty-looking red kite and lower over the marsh at least 60 swifts and a few house martins. More...

Hickling Broad field trip, 11 June 2021

Saturday, 19 June 2021

We were rewarded by the sight of two common cranes. They were about 200m away from us along a grassy track standing in front of a five-bar gate in the company of a grey heron. They stood their ground for long enough for all of us to get a good look at them, before jumping over the gate and out of sight. More...

NWT Thorpe Marshes

Tuesday, 27 April 2021

As we made our way over the railway footbridge the sound of a sedge warbler calling from a buddleia bush filled the air, being rudely interrupted by a very loud Cetti's warbler. A great start. More...

Male goldeneye

Sunday, 12 January 2020

The car park produced immediate sightings of house sparrows, blue tits and a bullfinch, but apart from woodpigeons very little could be seen in the fields. More...

Male merlin perched on mossy hummock, Shetland Isles

Sunday, 15 December 2019

Just walking along the road to the woodland produced redwing, blackcap, willow tit and merlin. More...

Male lapwing in breeding habitat

Saturday, 16 November 2019

Finally the weather changed, and we found our selves in the Brecks on a clear sunny day without any rain. More...

EWT Fingringhoe Wick

Wednesday, 8 May 2019

The highlight for all of us was the quantity of nightingales; More...

Glanford & Bayfield Estate

Saturday, 13 April 2019

The weather was clear when we arrived and the appearance of a red kite over the car park and the track provided a perfect start. More...

RSPB Minsmere

Sunday, 17 March 2019

After a week of lashing rain and gale force winds I wondered whether anyone would dare to turn out for this event, but determination prevailed and eleven of us arrived for a windy but generally fine day. More...