RSPB

Woodland Work Parties - NOT ADVISABLE DURNG CURRENT LOCKDOWN

Wednesday 14 October to Sunday 21 March

NOT ADVISABLE DURING CURRENT LOCKDOWN

Wednesday 14 October to Sunday 21 March
10am-3.30pm (selected dates only - see below)
Price: Free 

Woodland work for wildlife starts once again at Garston Wood, and continues on Sundays and Wednesdays throughout the winter season. The work undertaken is vital to maintain the rich diversity of plant and animal life in this beautiful RSPB reserve, and is also good fun - visiting the "Green Gym!" or using the "Natural Health Service!". We really like lots of volunteers! Supervised training is provided by RSPB staff and volunteers. Bring a packed lunch if you can stay all day, but do come if you can only spare a shorter time. Gloves and tools are provided. Time: 10 am to 3.30 pm if you can stay all day. TOOLS, GLOVES AND TUITION ARE PROVIDED (Please bring your own work gloves where possible) 

How to get to RSPB Garston Wood nature reserve: Garston Wood is 15 miles south-west of Salisbury, 1.5 miles north of Sixpenny Handley.
BY Car: From the A354, take the B3081 west toward Sixpenny Hadley. Turn right up Dean Lane (the Bowerchalk road), keeping to the right at the fork, and Garston Wood is on your left (finger post on the right-hand side of the road.).
BY BUS: Dorset 184 service from Salisbury to Sixpenny Handley. Roebuck Inn stop in Sixpenny Handley is a 1.5 mile walk away down the lane to the reserve.
BY TRAIN: Nearest station is Salisbury. Continue journey by taxi or bus. (see above). Directions RSPB Garston Wood nature reserve in Dorset is close to the Wiltshire county border. For directions see above or use the Sat Nav co-ordinates at the top right of this page

Directions

RSPB Garston Wood

Full list of dates

  • Wednesday 14 October 2020
  • Sunday 25 October 2020
  • Wednesday 11 November 2020
  • Sunday 22 November 2020
  • Wednesday 9 December 2020
  • Sunday 20 December 2020
  • Wednesday 13 January 2021
  • Sunday 31 January 2021
  • Wednesday 10 February 2021
  • Sunday 21 February 2021
  • Wednesday 10 March 2021
  • Sunday 21 March 2021

Where is it?

  • County: Dorset